The Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER) Aptitude Test qualifies candidates for the five-year BS-MS degree programme in Engineering Sciences and the four-year BS programme in Economic Sciences. It is held as an online/computer-based test and is better known as the IISER Aptitude Test (IAT).

IISER uses three channels – JEE Advanced, Kishore Vaigyanik Protsahan Yojana (KVPY) and State and Central Boards Channel (SCB) for seat allocation.


  • Passed 10+2 with Science in 2019/2020 with marks equal or above the cut off percentage in their respective boards.
  • Indian nationals/Person of Indian Origin (PIO)/Overseas Citizenship of India (OCI)
  • Eligibility criteria depend on the channel of admission (KVPY, JEE, SCB).

Channels of admission

Candidates are selected for admission only if they apply via the below mentioned channels:

  1. Kishore Vaigyanik Protsahan Yojana (KVPY):

Candidates with a KVPY fellowship scorecard starting from 2019-20 academic sessions are eligible for admission.

2. JEE Advanced:

  • Reserved category (OBC-NCL, SC, ST and PWD) need a category rank within 10,000 to qualify for IISER admissions. 
  • General category needs a rank within 10,000 in the Common Rank List (CRL) of JEE Advanced 2019

3. State and Central Boards Channel (SCB):

  • Passed 10+2 with Science as a stream in 2018/2019 with marks equal to or above the cut off percentage in their respective boards
  • Candidates have to appear for the IISER Aptitude Test, which will be held at various centers* across the country.

Centers/Cities for the IISER Aptitude Test

  • Bangalore
  • Bhubaneshwar
  • Bhopal
  • Baroda
  • Chennai
  • Calicut
  • Delhi
  • Guwahati
  • Hyderabad
  • Kolkata
  • Mohali
  • Mumbai
  • Nagpur
  • Pune
  • Thiruvananthapuram
  • Tirupati
  • Vijayawada
  • Varanasi